[Tutorial] Make your game with Kivy! Introduction to mobile development on android with python and kivy

Ever since I’ve had a smartphone, I’ve been obsessed with making my own apps.  Java development can be slow and clunky, so I decided to use python. If you are a beginner, and you want to know how to make a phone game, follow my lead and start with Kivy! This blog will give you an introduction to mobile development on android using python.

Kivy is a framework that lets you write your app in python and run it on Android/iOS/Linux/MacOS/Windows. It’s designed for touch devices, and handles multi-touch quite nicely.

The main downside is that accessing sensors (accelerometer/gyroscope) and the vibration on your phone takes a bit more work. As I figure these out, I’ll leave a guide here for you.

Get started:
http://kivy.org/#download

Download the Kivy Python for android virtual machine image at the bottom of the page. Using a virtual machine lets you develop in Linux, which is faster. Don’t develop in windows! (I’ve learned this the hard way).

https://www.virtualbox.org/
Install virtual machine software. I use virtualbox.

Follow this  guide to figure out how to get it all up and running
http://archlinux.me/dusty/2012/12/05/building-a-python-kivy-app-in-android-easier-than-it-looks-but-harder-than-it-needs-to-be/

6 thoughts on “[Tutorial] Make your game with Kivy! Introduction to mobile development on android with python and kivy

  1. […] Have you already installed Kivy? Good! ETA: 5 minutes.You haven’t? See my post on getting setup. After you’ve already installed everything, come back to this post. I’m also assuming […]

  2. Kivy is great. I hope to see some tutorials here, especially for games.

  3. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

  4. […] If you haven’t gotten kivy up and running yet, check out my previous posts: […]

Leave a Reply

